The New Mexico State Police is divided into 12 different districts, and each officer is assigned a home district. Explore the various areas you may be assigned to during your career with the New Mexico State Police.
Santa Fe

Santa Fe is the smallest district, encompassing Santa Fe and Pecos. The district office is located in Santa Fe.

Las Vegas

The Las Vegas district encompasses Las Vegas all the way up to Raton and on to the border of Colorado. It borders the Santa Fe District to the south.


District 3 is headquartered in Roswell, and also encompasses Carlsbad and Hobbs, along with the southern quadrant of the state. This region is located at or near the confluence of three rivers, the Spring, the Hondo.

Las Cruces

The Las Cruces district is located in the southern part of the state, encompassing Las Cruces down to the border with Texas and Mexico. It is often referred to as the champagne district, as many of our officers want to retire here, making it the district that is the hardest to transfer into.


Centrally located, Albuquerque is the largest district officer-wise, with subdistricts in Edgewood, Los Lunas, and Cuba and is the largest city in New Mexico.


Located in the western part of the state, the Gallup district stretches all the way to the Arizona state line and includes Grants and a Port of Entry for commercial vehicles. The district office is located in Gallup.


This district is located in the region north of Santa Fe, covering Española, Taos, and the area up to Questa. The district office is located in Taos, with a sub-district office in Española. This region is known for its Hispanic influences on art and culture, and its memorable landscapes.


The Alamogordo district also includes Ruidoso, and borders the Roswell and Las Cruces districts. The district office is located in Alamogordo. This area includes White Sands National Monument, which covers 275 square miles of desert with white gypsum dunes, with the opportunity to sled, hike, bike, or camp.


Clovis is a geographically large district located in the high eastern plains, encompassing Santa Rosa, Tucumcari, and Fort Sumner. The district office is located in Clovis. Clovis is the capital of the high plains, home to Cannon Air Force Base, and lots of cultural activities, including the Clovis Music Festival, and youth rodeo.


The Farmington district is located in the Four Corners area of New Mexico, and includes a lot of reservation land along with San Juan County. The district office is located in Farmington. Nestled in the San Juan River Valley, at the confluence of the Animas, La Plata, and San Juan Rivers, this area is home to both successful agriculture and oil, gas, and mining operations.


The Socorro district is huge geographically and includes Truth or Consequences and Elephant Butte Lake. The district office is located in Socorro. Socorro mixes small-town charm with cutting-edge technology, thanks to New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology.


The Deming district stretches down to the southern border, and covers Lordsburg and Silver City. The district office is located in Deming. This district has a lot of border activity, as well as commercial activities as I-10 enters the state in this district.


The New Mexico State Police are tasked with the statewide protection of the citizens of our beautiful State. Part of embarking on the challenge of becoming a New Mexico State Police officer is maintaining a sense of mobility and commitment to the safety of our citizens. Explore the various areas you may be assigned to and  imagine the possibilities that await.